Rockstar interview: Sierra Blair-Coyle

Sierra Blair-Coyle is HOT HOT HOT on the climbing scene right now. She’s in TEAM USA, has a string of successful competitive, international performances under her belt, sponsors falling over themselves to work with her, she’s studying for a degree, she’s super-good looking and wait for it…she’s still only 18 – so she’s got it all ahead of her!

girlcrushrock was lucky enough to hang with Sierra for a while, here is what this super-talented little lady had to say…

As a strong female climber what do you tend to eat before, during and after a competition?

My pre-comp meal for afternoon/evening competitions is a buffalo burger and peas!  For morning competitions it’s a fruit smoothie with protein powder and a turkey burger. During comps I’ll usually eat an apple or a banana, and maybe have a few bites of a bagel.  After comps I’ll eat a protein bar, protein shake, or lunch/dinner (depending on what time of day it is).

Do you have any pre-competition rituals?

Before afternoon/evening comps I take naps!  Other than that, my only other thing is that when I have to wear a bib number I have my dad pin it on for me.  It’s just something we’ve always done, I think it’s cool!

Do you ever have days where you don’t feel like training and how do you overcome this?

On days when I don’t feel like training I just try to push through my workouts!  Even if I’m not feeling great that day, once I’m 20 minutes in I feel a ton better and have forgotten all about it.

Do you have any other hobbies and interests?

I love to read; I have a huge bookcase that’s completely filled and overflowing.  I also love baking!

Which female climber inspires you the most and why?

Tori Allen has always inspired me because she accomplished so much at such a young age and remained positive.  Having the chance to actually meet her was amazing for me; she was everything I hoped she would be 🙂

girlcrushrock wishes Sierra the very best of luck in her up and coming comps – go out there and CRUSH IT GIRL!!! Here’s a list of the major ones:

October 6Portland Boulder Rally in Portland, OR

October 19-20: Yank ‘N Yard in Albuqerque, NM

October 27: Knuckledragger’s Ball in Peoria, AZ

You can keep up to date with everything ‘Sierra’ by visiting her official website:

www.sierrabc.com 

Leave a comment